Article by Tim Tolleson, UTV Action Magazine

Texplex Park hosted the sixth round of the 2021 $200,000 Texas Outlaw UTV Race Series, and there were a total of 207 entries for the weekend, a new record. There were 17 Pro Turbos and 10 Pro NA 1000s, and the Miller brothers have been totally dominant at their home track, this round with Cody Miller scoring his fourth Pro Turbo win with a 2-1 weekend. Hunter Miller has won the other two and still sits third in Pro Turbo points, two points behind Kyle Chaney. Can-Am has dominated the podium all year as it did in 2020, but round six saw that domination dented with Shawn Saxton putting a Polaris into third.

Lucas Oil Midwest Short-course Pro Turbo champion Kyle Chaney (91) won the first heat, and Cody Taylor (48) was second behind Cody Miller in heat two.

Also having a  dirt bike motocross series, Texplex uses a two-moto format with Olympic scoring like the Motocross of Nations. Low score for the combined races wins and is awarded 25 points towards the series championship. First motos are started in waves with separate scoring for each wave, and winners get first picks of starting positions in the longer second motos. In Pro Turbos first moto, Kyle Chaney won his wave and turned the fastest lap, a 02:31.064, with Saxton second and Ronnie Anderson third. Hunter Miller won the second wave over brother Cody and Rob VanBeekum (Pol).

Cody Taylor (C-A) took the lead of the seven-lap Pro Turbo main ahead of Cody Miller, but Hunter got a bad start and was 13th on the first lap. Anderson was running third but blew an engine and dropped out on the third lap. Cody Miller took the lead on the second lap and set sail, turning an 02:31.041 on the third lap. Taylor held down second, finishing 10 seconds behind Miller with Chaney third another five seconds back. Saxton was fourth ahead of Hunter. When the combined scores were tallied, Cody Miller took the overall ahead of Chaney, Saxton and Hunter.

Ronnie Anderson (52) won the first two Pro NA 1000 rounds, and Kainan Baker (21) won the next three rounds.

In Pro NA 1000s, defending champ Collin Truett won the first moto in his RS1 ahead of Koen Crawford (Yam), Cross Kirchmeier (Hon), Kainan Baker (Pol), and Shawn Hess (Hon). Points leader Ronnie Anderson was eighth after blowing a CVT belt. In the seven-lap second moto, Truett again took the lead but broke an axle and dropped out after two laps. Robert Stout (Yam) took the lead but also dropped out after the halfway point. Meanwhile, Anderson had moved up from fifth to second and took the lead when Truett retired. Kirchmeier followed Anderson through the pack and settled into second ahead of Baker and Hess. Anderson turned the fastest lap of the race, a 02:34.773, and finished almost eight seconds ahead of Kirchmeier with Baker another seven seconds back.

Round six saw Cross Kirchmeier take the Pro NA 1000 victory for Honda with a 3-2 showing.

However, it was Kirchmeier who took the overall win with a 3-2 ahead of Baker, who scored 4-3. Crawford (2-6) was third. Anderson’s 8-1 was good for fourth ahead of Hess (5-4) and Truett (1-8). In series points, Anderson kept the Pro NA lead, but Baker gained points and closed to within 10 of Ronnie.

Chase Carr topped the NA 1000 Experts with a perfect 1-1 score. He leads class points with 141 and 5 wins.

The next round is August 28th as Anderson and Baker brawl for the $30,000 Pro NA championship. Also, eight classes of expert, amateur and youth UTVs battle for $1,500 championships, with second getting $1,250 and third getting $1,000. Pro NAs also battle for G3 Motorsports $150 holeshot awards. Pro Turbos vie for $150 holeshot awards from Dirt Monkey Performance and Whalen Speed, and Pro Turbo series podiums get $250, $100 and $50 from Injector Dynamics.

Rusty Pipes won the Vet 45+ Turbos with a 2-1 ahead of points rival Ryan Tewksbury; Rusty leads Ryan in series points (130-116) and round wins (3-2).

Maxxis Tires also has series contingencies with Pro Turbos earning $500 for the title, $300 for second and $200 for third. Pro NA, 1000 Turbo Experts, NA 1000 Experts, NA and Turbo Amateur payouts are $300, $200, and $100. Under 1000cc and Senior 45+ payouts are $250, $150 and $100. Youth 170 Mod and Stock payouts are $100, $50 and $25. HMF Performance contingencies are $150 per race in Pro Turbo, $125 in Pro NA, $75 in Turbo and NA Experts, and $50 for all other classes. HMF also offers $500 for most hole shots per season regardless of class.


1. Midlothian, TX…PT C. Miller/C-A, PS R. Anderson/Pol

2. Midlothian, TX…PT C. Miller/C-A, PS R. Anderson/Pol

3. Midlothian, TX…PT H. Miller/C-A, PS K. Baker/Pol

4. Midlothian, TX…PT C. Miller/C-A, PS K. Baker/Pol

5. Midlothian, TX…PT H. Miller/C-A, PS K. Baker/Pol

6. Midlothian, TX…PT C. Miller/C-A, PS C. Kirchmeier/Hon

7. Aug. 28…Midlothian, TX

8. Sept. 25…Midlothian, TX

9. Oct. 16…Midlothian, TX

10. Nov. 6-7…Midlothian, TX


Kainan Baker’s sister Alyanna won the Women’s Expert and leads class points with 141 and 3 wins.


Texplex Park, Midlothian, TX

Turbo UTV Pros

1. Cody Miller/C-A…2-1

2. Kyle Chaney/C-A…1-3

3. Shawn Saxton/Pol…2-4

4. Hunter Miller/C-A…1-5

5. Cody Taylor/C-A…5-2

6. Curtis Kirchmeier/Hon…6-6

7. Kory Willis/C-A…4-9

8. Coby Caraway/C-A…7-7

9. Jordon Berza/Pol…4-10

10. Ronnie Anderson/Pol…3-12

N/A UTV Pros

1. Cross Kirchmeier/Hon…3-2

2. Kainan Baker/Pol…4-3

3. Koen Crawford/Yam…2-6

4. Ronnie Anderson/Pol…8-1

5. Shawn Hess/Hon…5-4

6. Collin Truett/Pol…1-8

7. Jacob Gerken/Yam…6-5

8. Robert Stout/Yam…7-7

9. Robert VanBeekum/Pol…9-DNS

10. Blake Gustin/Hon…DNS-DNS


After 6 of 10 rounds:

Turbo UTV Pros

1. Cody Miller/C-A…142/4

2. Kyle Chaney/C-A…125

3. Hunter Miller/C-A…122/2

4. Kory Willis/C-A…93

5. Ronnie Anderson/Pol…52

N/A 1000 Pros

1. Ronnie Anderson/Pol…132/2

2. Kainan Baker/Pol…122/3

3. Cross Kirchmeier/Hon…120/1

4. Collin Truett/Pol…101

5. Shawn Hess/Hon…95

Back to blog